Date:11th February 2018 at 8:47pm
Written by:

2018 London Football Awards

Courtois, Christensen & Azpilicueta nominated at the prestigious footballing event

The shortlist of nominees for this year’s London Football Awards (LFA) has been announced. Chelsea have nominees in most categories, including Cesar Azpilicueta up for Premier League Player of the Year, won last year by N’Golo Kante. Chelsea Ladies Manager, Emma Hayes, is in contention for Manager of the Year award, won last year by Antonio Conte. The Chelsea Ladies also have three nominations and Courtois and Christensen are vying for a trophy on the night too.

Football heavyweights have scored nominations at this year’s London Football Awards.  Andreas Christensen is up against the likes of Ryan Sessegnon for Young Player of the Year. Cesar Azpilicueta faces stiff competition in the form of Tottenham’s Harry Kane, amongst others, for Premier League Player of the Year, won last year by teammate N’Golo Kante. Thibaut Coutois is in contention for an award and the Chelsea Ladies look set for more success with nominations for Millie Bright, Katie Chapman and Fran Kirby in the Women’s Player of the Year category and Emma Hayes hopes to bring home the  Manager of the Year trophy, won by Conte last year. The winners of all eight awards will be announced at the prestigious event, hosted by Mark Chapman, at London’s Battersea Evolution on March 1, 2018.

In its fourth year, the London Football Awards, sponsored by Toscafund, raises funds for former Arsenal goalkeeper and TV presenter, Bob Wilson OBE and his wife, Megs’ charity, Willow – the only national charity working with seriously ill young adults aged 16 to 40 to fulfil uplifting and unforgettable Special Days.

The shortlist of nominees was agreed by an independent panel of judges and announced by sports presenter and LFA judge, Jim Rosenthal at the launch at Coutts’ historical head office in London on February 1.

Premier League Player of the Year

(sponsored by Toscafund)

César Azpilicueta – Chelsea

Christian Eriksen – Tottenham Hotspur

Harry Kane – Tottenham Hotspur

Heung-Min Son – Tottenham Hotspur

Wilfried Zaha – Crystal Palace


Manager of the Year

(sponsored by Football Manager)

Emma Hayes – Chelsea Ladies

Roy Hodgson – Crystal Palace

Slaviša Jokanović – Fulham

Neil Harris – Millwall

Mauricio Pochettino – Tottenham Hotspur


EFL Player of the Year

Josh Clarke – Brentford

George Saville – Millwall

Romaine Sawyers – Brentford

Ryan Sessegnon – Fulham

Alex Smithies – Queens Park Rangers


Goalkeeper of the Year

Adrián – West Ham United

Daniel Bentley – Brentford

Thibaut Courtois – Chelsea

Heurelho Gomes – Watford

Hugo Lloris – Tottenham Hotspur


Women’s Player of the Year

(sponsored by Coutts)

Millie Bright – Chelsea Ladies

Danielle Carter – Arsenal Women

Katie Chapman – Chelsea Ladies

Fran Kirby – Chelsea Ladies

Jordan Nobbs – Arsenal Women


Young Player of the Year (under-23)

(sponsored by Zeus)

Andreas Christensen – Chelsea

Ainsley Maitland-Niles – Arsenal

Davinson Sánchez – Tottenham Hotspur

Ryan Sessegnon – Fulham

Harry Winks – Tottenham Hotspur


Community Project of the Year

(sponsored by the FA)

AFC Wimbledon Foundation – AFC Wimbledon Women and Girls

Brentford Community Sports Trust – The Fearless Foundation’s Journalism Project

QPR in the Community Trust – #Game4Grenfell


This year’s winner of the Outstanding Contribution to London Football (sponsored by Weston Homes), is former West Ham United, Crystal Palace and Arsenal striker, Ian Wright MBE.  This prestigious award was previously presented to Frank Lampard, John Terry and Arsene Wenger.

Other past winners to have attended the Awards are Antonio Conte, Harry Kane, Dele Alli, Hugo Lloris, N’Golo Kante, Tom Cairney, Dimitri Payet, Moussa Dembele, Aaron Ramsey, Ledley King and Roy Hodgson, to name a few.

Willow Life President Bob Wilson, said: “Once again this season, football in London – in the Premier League, the Football League and the Women’s game – has been dramatic and exciting.  The London Football Awards is a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the skills of our nominees, which we have seen on the pitches of the Capital over the last few months, as well as all the outstanding community work achieved by the clubs.  I’m looking forward to catching up with lots of friends and colleagues at this year’s London Football Awards on March 1.”

Nominees and winners of the awards have been selected by an expert judging panel from the worlds of football and media, from former players to major footballing bodies, and sports media, including Sky Sports, BBC, The Telegraph, Evening Standard and talkSPORT.

Standard tickets to the London Football Awards, including pre-dinner drinks and a three course meal, cost £225 per person.  Tables of ten are available for £2,250, Premium tables cost £3,500 and Legend Tables (for ten guests plus a legend) cost £6,000.

For more information and booking visit or telephone Willow on 01707 259777.

About Willow

Willow is the only national charity working with seriously ill 16 to 40 year olds to fulfill uplifting and unforgettable Special Days.

For some their Special Day is the opportunity to return some normality to their lives. For others it is the last chance to fulfil a dream. But for all, it is a life-affirming experience that can lift spirits, reunify families and be a source of strength when it’s needed most.

To date, Willow has provided more than 14,500 Special Days for young adults diagnosed with a life-threatening condition such as cancer, motor neurone disease, cystic fibrosis and Huntington’s disease.

The Charity receives no government or lottery funding and is totally reliant on the generosity of individuals, companies and Trusts to fund its work.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *